New Marion officers among 26 graduating from Patrol’s Basic Peace Officer Class

Members of the 134th Basic Peace Officer Class received training certificates during a graduation ceremony held Friday afternoon at the Ohio State Highway Patrol Academy. The 24 graduates will assume duties as peace officers for 15 Ohio agencies, including two with the Marion Police Department.

The 19-week basic course began in February. The course was developed by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission and offers comprehensive instruction in more than 150 topics, including criminal law, traffic law, community relations, physical training, self-defense, firearms,  emergency vehicle operations, standardized field sobriety testing, and electronic speed measuring devices.

Patrolman Nathan G. Fried, Lima Police Department, was selected as class speaker by his fellow class members and addressed the assembly.

Class honors went to the following:

  • Overall Top Performer – Nathan M. Joppeck, Wooster Police Department
  • Top Academics – Phillip J. Lloyd, Piqua Police Department
  • Top Firearms – Garrett S. Lotz, Piqua Police Department
  • Top Physical Fitness – Freeman J. Nixon, Mansfield Police Department
  • Top Driving – Nathan M. Joppeck, Wooster Police Department

Chief Brandon K. Standley, Bellefontaine Police Department, was the featured speaker for the ceremony and addressed an audience of graduates, friends, relatives and law enforcement officers. Colonel Paul A. Pride, Patrol superintendent, provided remarks and presented the certificates of training to the graduates.

First Name, MI Last Name Agency
Erica N. Anderson Medina Police Department
Petey S. Atkinson Ohio House of Representatives
Levi A. Benner Lancaster Police Department
Colin J. Bogart Forest Park Police Department
Nathan G. Fried Lima Police Department
Katherine R. Giesting Hamilton Police Department
Nolan A. Goodman Mansfield Police Department
Kelly E. Hmiel Stark County Sheriff’s Office
Nathan M. Joppeck Wooster Police Department
Kristen N. Kougendakis Dublin Police Department
Phillip J. Lloyd Piqua Police Department
Garret S. Lotz Piqua Police Department
Anthony R. Maher Findlay Police Department
Joshua M. May Piqua Police Department
Johnathon M. Musholt Portsmouth Police Department
Chris T.B. Nguyen Sharonville Police Department
Freeman J. Nixon Mansfield Park Police Department
Nicholas P. Pitzer Marion Police Department
Rachel E. Scott Lima Police Department
Danielle R. Sorber Hamilton Police Department
Brandon A. Stephenson Lima Police Department
Colton C. Stock Whitehall Police Department
Heath A. Underwood Mansfield Police Department
Samuel J. Walter Marion Police Department
Kaitlyn S. Weidman Lima Police Department
Tanner D. Williams Whitehall Police Department
About Marion Online News

Marion Online is owned and operated by the (somewhat) fine people at Neighborhood Image, a local website design and hosting company. We know, a locally owned media company, it's crazy. To send us information, click on Contact Us in the menu.